BREXIT – Currently your rights and entitlements as EU citizens continue unchanged.
Please click HERE for updates on the future implications of Brexit.

Mutual Recognition of Driving Disqualification

Mutual recognition and driver disqualifications

On 28 January 2010 Ireland and the UK operated the European Convention on Driving Disqualifications. This meant that a driving disqualification imposed to a licence holder in the UK who is resident in Ireland can be recognised here and the person will not be able to drive in Ireland. Disqualifications imposed in Ireland to licence holders resident in the UK will similarly be capable of being implemented in the UK. Only disqualifications for traffic offences committed between 28 January 2010 and 1 December 2014 were subject to this.

On 1 December 2014 the UK exercised its right to opt out of this Convention so mutual recognition of driving disqualifications between the Republic of Ireland and the UK ceased.

The Irish and UK authorities are working to ensure that the mutual disqualifications provisions are restored as soon as possible.

For further information please visit Road Safety Authority – Penalty points

Page last checked: February 2016

This webpage is for general information purposes only and while we endeavour to keep it up-to-date, errors may occur.  It is very important that you check with the relevant body to ensure the information is current and is applicable to your situation: – North /  South

If you would like to suggest amendments or highlight new information that could be useful to others please don’t hesitate to get in touch.